Marine Protected Areas (MPAs) in the Western Indian Ocean region (2019)

The Nairobi Convention Secretariat has built interactive dashboards for a range of different Western Indian Ocean (WIO) data. The visualizations below showcase the Marine Protected Areas (MPAs) in the Western Indian Ocean region and was generated from our Marine Protected Areas (MPAs) Outlook that was produced in collaboration with the Western Indian Ocean Marine Science Association (WIOMSA).


Find out more about the WIO countries biodiversity, ocean economy, ocean governance, data and resources

from the countries profile page



a) Information on marine protected areas in Somalia is unavailable.

b) The Exclusive Economic Zones (EEZs) of Somalia and Comoros have been obtained from the Marine Regions website. 
c) In most countries in the WIO region the EEZ *boundaries have not been agreed upon.
d) Mozambique - As of 31 December 2019, the Maputo Environmental Protection Area ("Área de Protecção Ambiental de Maputo"; Decree 103/2019 of 31 December) came into force (after finalization of this publication). Mozambique now has 3338.16km2 as its new total marine conservation area, which includes the Maputo Special Reserve, Ponta do Ouro Partial Marine Reserve, Inhaca Island partial reserves and a large portion of the Matutuine district. 2.57% of Mozambique’s EEZ is now under protection, up from 2.04%.
e) Seychelles declared 13 new MPAs on 26th March, 2020 after the finalization of this publication.
f) South Africa - Many MPAs in South Africa were proclaimed under the Sea Fisheries Act (SFA) (1973 and 1988) and its various amendments. All MPAs declared under the SF Act were re-proclaimed en masse in 2000 under the Marine Living Resources Act (MLRA). Since 2014, the primary legal instrument for establishment and protection of MPAs has been the National Environmental Management: Protected Areas Act of 2004. On 2 June, 2014, all MPAs previously declared under MLRA were transferred under presidential pronouncement to NEM:PAA

g) The designations employed and the presentations of material do not imply the expressions of any opinion whatsoever on the part of UNEP, Nairobi Convention, or contributory organisations concerning the legal status of any country, territory*, city area or its authorities, or concerning the delimitation of its frontiers or boundaries or the designation of its name, frontiers or boundaries.